top of page

Bridget's Bites Takes Flight- Destination: Asheville, NC


Photo of Devil's Courthouse (5,720 ft. elevation)

Photo above: Devil's Courthouse Overlook (5,720 ft.)

General definition of Asheville, NC- a hipster, artsy town hidden in the Blue Ridge Mountains of west North Carolina.

Bridget’s definition of Asheville, NC- A beautiful, mountainous city with breathtaking waterfall hiking, the most gorgeous sunsets, the nicest people, and most importantly, a city with a strong emphasis on farm to fork, locally sourced, flavorful food; A city that stole a piece of my heart that I never anticipated on ever visiting; A city that is the perfect getaway for a day or a week; A city that YOU need to visit… NOW!

Before I get into sharing my adventures spent in Asheville, I want to briefly talk about how this trip sort of “fell into my lap.”

The launch of my website and blog came to fruition when I decided to take a more self care approach with myself and my life. Working in health care, it’s easy to neglect ourselves in an effort to maximize our energy into helping others- specifically with regard to nutrition and creating sustainable health behavior changes in people (at least for me). Let’s clear the air- taking on a more selfish life was not easy for me; it started small by going for a walk after a full day of work and over time has become a life changing experience. Self care has instilled a better sense of my life purpose, it has provided me with a work/ life balance, the ability to relax, and most recently, the opportunity to take a trip to an unfamiliar city AND state.

Here’s what made this vacation different from any other trip I had ever taken:

  • My trip to Asheville was not “planned” out. I booked a flight while I was on the phone with a friend, talking about wanting to go on vacation, but not sure where (Asheville was loosely mentioned in the conversation and I just did it).

  • Instead of staying in a corporate franchised hotel, I reserved an Air BnB- a nature log cabin tucked away on 18 acres of land up in the Swannanoa mountains. This Air BnB also came “equipped” with NO tv, NO internet, and NO cell phone service. Something EXTREMELY DIFFERENT AND NEW for me.

  • I had no agenda. I jotted down a few restaurants I wanted to try that were recommended by local Dietitians that I follow on Instagram, and I knew I wanted to go hiking (for the first time). Other than that, there was no itinerary. My vacation schedule consisted of- flying in, checking into my Air BnB, and going from there.

Now we can talk about my AMAZING ADVENTURES IN WEST AVL, NC!

I spent 6 days in Asheville and it felt like 6 hours; I enjoyed every minute of seeing, hiking, eating, and relaxing in this beautiful southern city tucked away in the Great Smoky Mountains. Here’s a day to day breakdown of what I did on my unplanned, impromptu trip to somewhere new!

Day 1: I flew in after work so I arrived in AVL pretty late and overly exhausted from a full day of work and travel. Side note- if you live in FL, you can travel to AVL for under $100 on Allegiant Air (hint hint, go book your ticket after reading this post). I checked into my Air BnB and went to a local grocery store to get some essentials for the duration of my stay. My Air BnB did come with a full service kitchen, which was a necessity for me. I drove through the two main downtown areas (Haywood and Downtown AVL) so I was able to see what was in store for me- cute coffee shops, lots of hipster retail storefronts, sidewalk musicians, and tasteful graffiti. I was pumped for the days to come!

Day 2: My first full day in AVL! I woke up early despite wanting to sleep in (doesn’t happen when your body is accustomed to waking up at 5 am). I went for a morning meditation run through the Swannanoa mountains. It was the most beautiful way to start my day. I passed by farms with families of cows, horses, and peacocks. The air was crisp (no humidity!). After my 5 mile run, I came back to my Air BnB, made some coffee and had a light breakfast on the veranda, while I listened to the birds and stillness of being in the mountains (Note, I am a native south Floridian where the highway is my backyard; quiet doesn’t exist for me when I walk outside, so I took advantage of being away from the hustle and bustle of everyday chaos). I then decided I wanted to check out downtown AVL (Haywood Rd.)- this is also when I realized I had no internet or cell phone service because Uber and Lyft were “conveniently” unavailable. Luckily and thank god for my sister back in FL, she was able to somehow get me an Uber (don’t ask how this happened; I give it to the man upstairs because I literally thought I was doomed and was on the verge of tears that I would have to spend my entire vacation “stuck.”). Putting fear into faith is a beautiful, mindful self care practice I’ve taken on in an effort to relax more and be okay with a “life on life’s terms” approach. When I got to Haywood, I went to Odds Cafe, a local coffee shop with a hipster chill vibe and later visited Bimberibon, a recommended restaurant on Haywood Rd. My day ended with an impromptu hike up and through Craggy mountain gardens to watch the sunset.

Odds Cafe Review: What’s unique about Odds Cafe is that they brew and serve local, fair trade, organic coffee. The cold brew is AMAZING (I’m a coffee snob from being a Starbucks barista while I was in college). And they have a secret spice at their cafe self serve station that you must try! It’s good- trust me. Odds has a spacious lounge with an indoor and outside seating area that can be sectioned off by closing the large garage doors (but why would anyone want to close them is beyond me). The staff was welcoming and made me feel like a local, something that is important when visiting a new place. I ended up staying there for over an hour, reading. This place was so good I made it a point to visit there TWICE on my trip for two reasons- A) again, the coffee is killer, and B) they have enormous homemade cookies that I had to try. Visit two is when the cookie happened, and if I had the time, I would have gone back a third and fourth time. If you are a serious coffee lover and are looking for a relaxed atmosphere to nestle into a good book, Odds Cafe is definitely for you!

Bimberibon Review: Recommended by a Dietitian, Bimberibon is apparently a semi new health conscious restaurant. The restaurant’s food framework is all about feeling good by eating good food, and they do a really good job at showcasing that the moment you step inside the establishment. Their cuisine is fresh fusion with a twist. Combining biodynamic wholesome ingredients and creating unique fare is what this eatery speaks AND delivers. Their quinoa kale pakoras are to die for! Served with a tamarind and cilantro chutney, these appetizer sized bites are hard to share! They’re vegan too- the menu offers an abundance of plant based foods! For my entree, I had the shrimp quinoa paella bowl, sans shrimp, add in tempeh. I want to point out that the staff was very accomodating in substituting my protein, which is notable as some restaurants are not quick to do this. The paella bowl was delicious! With every bite I had, I felt more like I was in Mexico, nibbling on a traditional Spanish inspired dish, rather than being at a healthy eatery in west Asheville, North Carolina. I want to also make note that Bimberibon is a counter service restaurant, and is the perfect spot to visit when your hunger is calling, regardless if you have ten minutes or an hour to spare. The food is cooked to order, but doesn’t take an eternity. An added bonus for my friends that get hangry!

Day 3: This day I was privileged with a vehicle so I accomplished A LOT. Started the day with a scenic run along the French Broad River and through Carrier Park. I met a group of cyclists and runners and this greenway trail was highly recommended, so I figured why not? And I am so grateful I did this. This trail is one of Asheville’s most valued nature trails, winding through the river bank. This is a must do when you visit AVL, regardless if you are physically active. The greenery is beautifully lined with canopies of leafy trees. It’s also dog friendly, and who doesn’t love seeing cute pups!? Following Carrier Park, I headed downtown to Green Sage Cafe (recommended on Yelp!) for a healthy, hearty breakfast and checked out the city scene! I also checked out Biltmore Village (a tourist ‘must do’).

Green Sage Cafe Review: With three locations in AVL, this place is a convenient drop in for a quick bite to eat that is healthy, all natural, locally sourced, and environmentally friendly. Evidently, it is named one of AVL’s top sustainable eateries. They serve up breakfast, lunch, and dinner and offer a variety of selections from smoothies to salads and sandwiches. I got there in the knick of time because the place became packed within minutes of my arrival. I met a friendly couple in line who suggested the Everything Avocado Toast and a cup of their organic coffee. I took their suggestion and ordered the Everything Avocado Toast and added a sunny side up egg. They offer half portions so i got the half sandwich. I also tried their sunflower oatmeal in its half serving. And of course coffee! Man, was that breakfast delicious! The toast was served with a drizzle of olive oil and a variety of superfood seeds (chia, caraway, sesame). The egg was perfectly cooked- runny yolk with a set white. One thing I really loved about this place was the half portion offerings. The sunflower apple oatmeal was the perfect sweet ending to my fabulous Saturday morning breakfast! Topped with cranberries, pumpkin seeds, ginger, and cinnamon, there’s no way this sweet breakfast bowl could be a bad idea! It’s a cozy cup of fall flavors, and, you don’t have to wait until then to eat it! My advice for visiting Green Sage Cafe? Try a few half portions of different items to really get a taste of their environmentally, sustainable, true food!

Day 4: Although each day was full of adventures and fun, I think Sunday was overall my favorite day. I hiked Catawba Falls all the way up to the swimming hole, visited historical Black Mountain and had breakfast at a cute family owned restaurant, and finished off with an evening lakeside picnic and walk at Lake Tomahawk with views of the 7 Sisters Mountains. For someone with zero agenda, I really was accomplishing a lot, and this day really showcased that! Florida does not have mountains, so I can’t say I am an avid hiker, therefore, hiking Catawba Falls was a first time experience. The hike is about 3.5 miles, with some steep rope hoisting in order to get to the top. Definitely worth it! Black Mountain reminded me of where my family lives in upstate NY- a small village that takes you back in time with its old architecture and brownstone buildings. During my sightseeing, I stumbled across an old house converted into a cafe called “Louise’s Kitchen.” Being that I have an Aunt Louise who is a phenomenal cook, I couldn’t pass up trying this place.

Louise’s Kitchen Review: A farm to table establishment in a converted Victorian house, Louise’s Kitchen makes you feel like you just stepped into Grandma’s house for a homemade Sunday brunch! They have outdoor seating available on the wrap around porch, or you can sit inside at cute antique style tables. Their menu is small, but offers traditional American breakfast favorites- pancakes, grits, and biscuits and gravy. Their most popular item is the “Big Boy Burrito” which is ENORMOUS! It is filled with eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, and cheese; an ideal breakfast for a hungry meat lover! Louise’s is the quintessential place to go to to relax and enjoy the comforts of home while being away from home. Like many restaurants in AVL, this eatery is counter service.

Day 5: Woke up to rain and overcast weather, but that didn’t stop me from exploring. The morning began with biscuits, gravy, and homemade marmalades from Biscuit Head (a must!). After entering a self induced comfort food coma, I visited Pisgah National Forest (yes, in the rain). Pisgah National Forest is over 500,000 acres of mountains, waterfalls, scenic forestry, and wildlife in the Appalachian mountains. A must do when exploring Pisgah Forest is to stop and see Looking Glass Waterfalls and Sliding Rock and travel up through the Blue Ridge Parkway to Devil’s Courthouse (5720 feet elevation) for a breathtaking high view of nature’s blessings. Devil’s Courthouse is a short, but steep hike. Have no fears though! Because I hiked this creek trail in sperry BOATING shoes and ripped jeans IN THE RAIN, so i have faith that pretty much anyone can do it! It’s a beautiful opportunity to take a pano photo for memory sake! (*See photo at top of post*).

Biscuit Head Review: This place was highly recommended by almost everyone I met in AVL and those who aren’t even local to the area, and, for good reason. This place is NO JOKE, DELICIOUS. The small, but popular restaurant typically has lines out the door, daily. That’s one indication that their food is good. Indicator two is the smell of fresh biscuits once you get inside. Put your calorie conscious heart to the side and indulge. Their giant homemade, fluffy biscuits are served with your choice of one gravy, or try a gravy sampling of three different ones! They also have a unique selection of marmalades and jams. The jam bar was my favorite. They have a variety of jams from honey sriracha to sour cherry to bananas foster. My suggestion? Order biscuits, a gravy sampler, and try every single jam and marmalade. It is worth it! And then go hike to relieve you of the well deserved food coma you entered! Life is short! Indulge a little!

Day 6: My last day in AVL was spent hiking Mount Mitchell, the highest peak east of the Mississippi! Ironically, Mount Mitchell State Park was listed as North Carolina’s July 2018 park of the month! Not only is Mount Mitchell a well recognized state park, but it’s one of the nation’s first parks. There are two ways to get to the summit that is a whopping 6,684 feet above! Option one is to drive, but option two is way more exciting, and that’s by hiking up to the observation deck. This hike included yummy peaches and some “hiking trail mix” as this was a rather lengthy hike. There are two trails to take to get there and back, and I did each trail- the harder one first, which would be my recommendation if you opt to hike up. There’s a museum once you get to the observatory. A few things I experienced on this hike- bring a jacket! The temperature was 30 degrees COOLER at the top. It also rained and was foggy so the “views” weren’t that great. But I did this hike in the morning, so perhaps an afternoon trip to Mount Mitchell is preferred. Take time to appreciate nature- there are tons of wild mushrooms and mica gems can be found hidden in the gravel.There’s also a creek off the trail that is worth visiting if you are adventurous! And make sure to eat beforehand! Hiking snacks and water are strongly encouraged! There’s something special about eating peaches on a mountaintop that makes for a real cool “food” experience. After Mount Mitchell I headed to Sunny Point Cafe, located in West AVL, off Haywood Rd.

Sunny Point Cafe Review: This restaurant was one I had written down. It encompasses everything I believe in and look for when it comes to dining out- fresh, homemade, and family owned and operated. Sunny Point is also involved in supporting local charities, donating to various organizations each month. The restaurant has its own garden on property, and you are encouraged to check it out. The cafe is small inside, but they have a quaint outdoor patio to accommodate more seating. I recommend sitting outside- its not as closed off. Sunny Point is most famous for their shrimp and grits, but their whole menu is tantalizing. The chef does a daily special, something unique. When dining at Sunny Point, start with one of their homemade sodas. I’m not a soda fan, but something about a watermelon and lime bubbly beverage sounded really good after hiking for 3 hours. And it was! Tart and tangy with a hint of sweetness! The perfect thirst quencher. Sunny Point has a daytime and a nighttime menu; I went for lunch. I started off with their pecan crusted fried green tomatoes with goat cheese and a red pepper aioli. And let’s just say, they were so good; they offer the appetizer as an entree sandwich and I understand why. For my entree, I had the Hoppin John Veggie burger. Veggie burgers are either a hit or miss, being too moist or too dry, but my server assured me it was a good choice. And she was right! Served with housemade potatoes, it was a satisfying meal. I didn’t order dessert, but they offer daily baked goods, which looked really yummy. Next time I visit here, I am definitely going to try one of their homemade baked treats! My advice? Dine at Sunny Point during the week to prevent having to wait. The restaurant gets very busy on the weekend. And do check out their garden!

For having no idea what I was going to do in the Smoky mountains for six days, I sure did accomplish a lot and more! This blog post can’t put into words the personal wealth I gained from this trip. Visiting AVL gave me the opportunity to focus on myself, plunging into a new dimension of self care. I have always enjoyed traveling, and I have gone to some really cool places (Europe), but after I graduated college and dove into my career, traveling was pushed to the side to focus on my professional growth. Now that I have established myself and where I want to go with my career, traveling is becoming more important to me again. An essential component of self care is personal growth, and traveling fulfills this for me. Traveling to an unfamiliar place forced me to get out of my daily routine, take a break from work (digital detox), and required me to take a risk. My biggest advice for anyone wanting to travel? JUST. DO. IT. Book the ticket, go where your heart takes you. Pack lightly, leave your plans and agenda book at home. Do something different. Someone once told me if I was comfortable with myself, I wasn’t growing. Never settle. Do more. And please visit Asheville. It really is a “discovery on the inside and out!”

Happy and Healthy Always,

Bridget


bottom of page